North America English

NAWBO Iowa Honors Business Women at Celebration of Excellence Awards Luncheon


Nov. 16, 2015 (Des Moines, IA)—The Iowa chapter of the National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO Iowa) today announced the recipients of three awards to be presented at its annual “Celebration of Excellence” on November 19 at Glen Oaks Country Club in West Des Moines. The reception for the honorees begins at 11:30 with the program and luncheon at noon.

Mary Andringa, Chair of the Board of Vermeer Corporation in Pella, Iowa will be honored with the NAWBO Iowa Legacy Award and be inducted into the NAWBO Iowa Hall of Fame. Christina Moffatt, founder of Crème Cupcake + Dessert, will receive NAWBO Iowa’s Woman Business Owner of the Year Award; and T. Waldmann-Williams, Ph.D., owner of TWW Consulting LLC, will receive NAWBO Iowa's Advocate of the Year Award.

In addition, the U.S Small Business Administration will present an award for the Iowa Top Lender to Women-Owned Small Business to U.S. Bank.

Reservations for the event can be made at Table sponsorships are available for companies and organizations to host clients, employees and business contacts while honoring the winners and celebrating the success of all women business owners.


NAWBO Iowa Hall of Fame Legacy Award – Mary Andringa

Mary Andringa, Chair of the Board following her recent transition from President and CEO of Vermeer Corporation in Pella, Iowa, is the second business leader to receive the NAWBO Iowa Hall of Fame Legacy Award. Last year it was presented for the first time to Connie Wimer, President and CEO of Business Publications Corporation Inc. in Des Moines. Vermeer is an international family-owned industrial and agricultural equipment manufacturing company with over 2,500 employees worldwide. Its products are used in more than 70 countries. Andringa is one of 18 private sector members of President Obama’s Export Council and recently concluded her two-year term as chair of the National Association of Manufacturers (NAM). She was inducted into IndustryWeek’s Manufacturing Hall of Fame in 2013 and is a past member of the Export-Import Bank Advisory Committee. Andringa has been named one of the Top 100 CEOs in STEM by STEMconnector® and recently completed a two-year team as the co-chair of the Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council. She currently provides her leadership as a citizen volunteer to the Iowa Board of Regents and is involved in the boards of Herman Miller Company and Milliken & Company, in addition to Vermeer.


NAWBO Iowa Woman Business Owner of the Year Award – Christina Moffatt

Christina Moffatt of Crème Cupcake + Dessert, expanded her home-operated bakery in Des Moines to a commercial franchise organization. Moffatt was also named Mid-Iowa Regional Director of the Iowa Small Business Development Center at Iowa State University in January, 2015. She opened her Ingersoll area shop in August of 2012, and it now offers cupcakes, plated desserts and creative cocktails combined with a custom cake and wholesale business. Moffatt has been president of the Des Moines Downtown Chamber and been recognized in the Business Record’s 40 Under Forty. She received Iowa Small Business Development Center’s 2012 Deb Dalziel Women Entrepreneurial Achievement Award and appeared on The Food Network’s Cupcake Wars. Her shop also has won Cityview’s Best Dessert.


NAWBO Iowa Advocate of the Year Award – T. Waldmann-Williams

T. Waldmann-Williams, Ph.D., owner of TWW Consulting LLC, has given to NAWBO at national, regional, and local levels for almost 20 years. She joined the NAWBO Central Iowa board in 2010 and a year later was a tri-president and then a co-president. While serving on the board, Waldmann-Williams held several leadership and support roles including public policy, financial, programs, membership, nominating, and Summit conference committees, and presented at several Summit conferences and monthly programs. She helped lead the transition from NAWBO Central Iowa to NAWBO Iowa by rewriting the bylaws to include co-leadership roles and the organization’s new satellite structure; spearheaded a satellite group in a multi-county area; and co-created NAWBO Iowa’s Past President’s group. At the national level, she assisted NAWBO chapters around the nation; served on national membership, awards, and nominating committees; and shared her expertise in the areas of leadership and governance.



NAWBO Iowa is affiliated with the National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO) in Washington D.C., which is celebrating its 40th anniversary this year. The chapter has been recognized by the national NAWBO organization as the fastest-growing chapter in percentage of growth. Its mission is to propel women entrepreneurs into economic, social and political spheres of power worldwide by strengthening the wealth-creating capacity of its members, creating innovative change, building strategic alliances and transforming public policy. For more information on NAWBO Iowa go to or contact Kristen Hall, Co-President NAWBO Iowa, President of KH Mediation, at 515-229-7395;; or Lori Day, Co-President NAWBO Iowa, President of FocusFirst Inc., at 515-279-8686;